Annual car show draws 72 registered vehicles

John Reeder of Bern is the owner of this 1939 Chevy Master Deluxe Sedan on display at the Twister’s Car Show on Saturday, June 8.

Submitted by Bart White

The 21st Annual Twister’s Car Show was held Saturday, June 8, at the Mary Cotton Public Library. Participants and attendees enjoyed a sunny day, with highs reaching 94 degrees. There were 72 registered vehicles at the show, including several motorcycles, cars, trucks and even a nice restored Ford 8N tractor.

The show kicked off at noon with an invocation by Pastor Gerald Hervey of the Twin Oaks Church, followed by a flag ceremony with retired Assistant Fire Chief Tom Nolte bringing in the flag to the Alan Jackson song, “Where Were You,” followed by the National Anthem.

Hot Wheel Races were enjoyed by many spectators. Winners were as follows: first place, Kora Lee; second place, Warner Erdley; third place, Nakita Lawrence; fourth place, Adalyn Stolzenberger; and fifth place, Cortland Boldra.

Trophy winners of the car show were as follows:

Class Name of Winner Description

Participant Choice Mike and Yvonne Althouse 1970 Chevelle SS

Major Choice Jim and Kay Nitcher 1964 Chevy Malibu SS

Twisters Ladies Choice Carmen Yost 1967 Chevy Camaro

Best of Show Larry Serrault 1934 Chevy 2 door

Best Mopar Dennis Elliott 1966 Plymouth Satellite

Best General Motors Bob Lechner 1957 Chevy Nomad

Best Ford Monty Noland 1969 Mach 1 R Code

Best Orphan Class Bob Mendenhall 1957 Kaiser Special

Best Street Rod Larry Johnson 1932 Ford Coups

Best Paint Duane Scardioa 1957 Chevy Belair 2 door hardtop

Best Interior Robert Meyer 1957 Chevy Belair 2 door hardtop

Best Motorcycle Floyd Mooney 1970 Triumph Daytona 500

Best Truck Jerry Stallbaumer 1968 Chevy C-10

Best Wagon Ray Kirk 1966 Chevy Chevelle

Best Pre 1940s Mike Pierson 1936 Chevy Coupe

Best Unfinished Michael Fritz 1998 Cavalier “Race Car”

Best Rat Rod Gene Vaught 1947 IHC Truck

Best Original Don Gadekan 1957 3100 Truck

Best Late Model Ron Krause 2002 Chevy Corvette

Best Under 21 Cory Nolte 1971 Lincoln Mark III

Dare to be Different Sean McNally 2012 Cadillac CTS-V Wagon

Longest Distance Anthony and Sherry Middenforf 1989 Chevy Truck

Oldest Participants Leo Dickerson 1996 Ford Convertible

Kenneth Chase2002 Mazda Miata Supercharged

The winner of the 50/50 pot was Carmen Yost, and the $500 Cash Grand Prize winner was Dennis Murchison.

The Sabetha Herald1804 Posts

The Sabetha Herald has been serving Sabetha since 1876.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password