Local high school seniors honored

Sabetha High School seniors are honored for the Kansas Honor Scholars Program by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment. Pictured are (L-R) Kenzie Meyer, Ashlyn Menold, Khalea Bergman, Spencer Strahm, Leah Renyer and Lauren Gatz.
Wetmore High School seniors Alyssa Bloom and Austin Smith are honored for the Kansas Honor Scholars Program by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.


This spring, the Kansas Honor Scholars Program, which marks its 50th anniversary as a tradition of the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment, honored more than 3,600 high school seniors – including eight local seniors – throughout Kansas for their academic excellence and achievement.

Local seniors include Khalea Bergman, Lauren Gatz, Ashlyn Menold, Kenzie Meyer, Leah Renyer and Spencer Strahm, Sabetha High School; and Alyssa Bloom and Austin Smith, Wetmore High School.

Since 1971, the program has honored more than 150,000 high school seniors — from all 105 Kansas counties and approximately 360 high schools — for ranking academically in the top 10 percent of their class. The program is made possible by KU Endowment, alumni donations and proceeds from the Alumni Association’s Jayhawk license plate program, and allows the University and the Alumni Association to create more scholarship opportunities for Kansas students.

In the past, the Association has hosted recognition ceremonies throughout Kansas, but because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, scholars were honored virtually this year. A special congratulatory video, featuring messages from KU Chancellor Doug Girod, Alumni Association President Heath Peterson and former KU basketball player and Kansas Honor Scholar Perry Ellis, is available for viewing at www.kualumni.org/khs. In addition, the Association mailed distinctive Kansas Honor Scholar medallions, certificates and letters of recognition to all high schools for distribution to the students.

In 2020, the Association raised more than $7,000 for one-time Kansas Honor Scholar Scholarships, funded entirely by alumni donations. In addition, two students will receive the $1,000 renewable four-year Herbert Rucker Woodward Scholarship, given annually for more than two decades to Kansas Honor Scholars. Since 1985, more than 18,000 Kansas Honor Scholars have enrolled as freshmen at KU.

About the KU Alumni Association

Through the support of members and donors, the KU Alumni Association advocates for the University of Kansas, communicates with Jayhawks in all media, recruits students and volunteers, serves the KU community and unites Jayhawks. For more information, visit www.kualumni.org.

The Sabetha Herald1940 Posts

The Sabetha Herald has been serving Sabetha since 1876.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password