Sabetha, Wetmore football classifications change

Submitted by Jeremy Holaday

The classifications for Sabetha and Wetmore’s football teams have changed for the 2021-22 school year. Sabetha is now considered a 2A school for football and Wetmore is now playing in Six-Player football.

The 2021-22 Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) senior high membership is 354 schools and there are multiple changes for football classifications and school classifications for the 2021-22 school year. Wichita-Northeast Magnet school is an unclassified member school.

Football Classifications

Other football classification changes with enrollment ranges are as follows:

In 6A, Wichita-Heights and Wichita-Northwest switched from 5A football.

In 5A, Kansas City-JC Harmon and Wichita-West switched from 6A football; and Great Bend and Lansing switched from 4A football.

In 4A, Kansas City-FL Schlagle and Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas switched from 5A football.

In 3A, Wellsville switched from 2A football.

In 2A, Cherryvale, Council Grove, Gypsum-Southeast of Saline, Halstead, Larned, Riley County, Russell and Sabetha switched from 3A; while Horton switched from 1A.

In 1A, Belle Plaine, Belleville-Republic County, Cherokee-Southeast, Ellis, Erie, Eskridge-Mission Valley, Hutchinson-Trinity Catholic, Leon-Bluestem, Marion, McLouth, Mound City-Jayhawk Linn, Oskaloosa, Pittsburg-St. Marys Colgan, St. Marys, Sterling, Syracuse and Wathena-Riverside switched from 2A; and Medicine Lodge, Onaga and Valley Falls switched from Eight-Player.

In Eight-Player Division I, Brookville-Ell Saline, Elkhart, Lyndon, Sublette switched from 1A; and Mankato-Rock Hills, Osborne and Quinter switched from Division II.

In Eight-Player Division II, Highland-Doniphan West, Jetmore-Hodgeman County, Kinsley, Langdon-Fairfield, Moran-Marmaton Valley and St. John-Hudson switched from Eight-Player Division I.

In the new football division – Six-Player – multiple teams dropped from Eight-Player football. Those schools are Buffalo-Altoona Midway, Chase, Chetopa, Ingalls, LeRoy-Southern Coffey County, Lost Springs-Centre, Peabody-Burns, Southern Cloud, Tescott, Waverly, Wetmore and Winona-Triplains/Brewster.

School Classifications

School classification changes with enrollment ranges are as follows:

No changes for class 6A or 5A.

In 4A, St. George-Rock Creek switched from a 3A school.

In 3A, Humboldt and Olathe Heritage Christian Academy switched from a 2A school; and Nickerson switched from a 4A school.

In 2A, Jackson Heights, Pratt-Skyline and Rosalia-Flinthills switched from a 1A school; and Oskaloosa and St. Marys switched from a 3A school.

In 1A, Leoti-Wichita County, Spearville and Washington County all switched from a 2A school.


The Sabetha Herald1962 Posts

The Sabetha Herald has been serving Sabetha since 1876.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password