McClellan named Governor’s Scholar


Lily McClellan, a graduate of Axtell High School, was named a 2022 Governor’s Scholar and was recognized at a ceremony on Sunday, May 1. Pictured are (L-R) Kansas Governor Laura Kelly and Lily McClellan.

At the invitation of Kansas Governor Laura Kelly, Lily McClellan of Summerfield was selected to attend the 39th Annual Governor’s Scholars Awards Program on Sunday, May 1, in Topeka.

The recognition ceremony honors the top academic one percent of Kansas high school seniors. Scholars are selected from accredited public and private schools in the state.

“These high school seniors have shown dedication in their studies and a commitment to learning. They’ve earned this honor and I want to congratulate them on this achievement,” Governor Kelly said. “We also should recognize their families, teachers and mentors for helping these outstanding students achieve their academic goals.”

This program is coordinated for the Governor by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force and is funded by donations from private sector businesses in Kansas. The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force was formed 39 years ago to strengthen public confidence in education.

The following organizations are members of the Task Force: American Association of University Women, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Congress of parents and teachers, Kansas State Department of Education, Kansas Sate High School Activities Association, Kansas National Education Association, Kansas League of Women Voters, and United School Administrators of Kansas.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password