Brown County FSA receives national award

Submitted by Chris Thurston

Kansas Farm Service Agency is proud to announce Dalon Stevens, Lucinda Schilling, Karla Smith- Specht, Bailey Dawes, Kelly Lehew, Amy Keebler and Curtis Stirton (Brown County FSA) as recipients of the Administrators Award for Service to Agriculture. 

This national level award recognizes employees for their substantial and noteworthy accomplishments to our farmers, ranchers, producers and agricultural partners. The recipients represent our core values of ethics, customer service, teamwork, fiscal responsibility, and outstanding service to staff and employees across USDA.

During the period of March 1, 2021, through Feb. 28, 2022, the Brown County FSA Team demonstrated dedication and motivation by putting in the extra time/effort to implement the Farm Storage Facility Loan (FSFL) program for the District 3 area in northeast Kansas. 

The Brown County FSA team achieved high standards in the quality and efficiency of FSFL program delivery. This team’s workload accounts for roughly 50 percent of the FSFL loan volume for the state. They provide all general oversight responsibilities for the FSFL program implementation and work with counties in their service area for on-site activities.

Brown County accomplished this by utilizing Box, OneSpan, and MS Teams to efficiently share information with producers and other county offices.

Their innovative use of technology also sped up the certification process by eliminating the need to encrypt data into multiple emails to crop insurance agents. Insurance agents were very appreciative of the new system and requested other County Offices use the same system to streamline the sharing process.

The Sabetha Herald2151 Posts

The Sabetha Herald has been serving Sabetha since 1876.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password