Martha MacKay selected as Kansas Master Teacher

Martha MacKay is selected as Kansas Master Teacher for 2023.

Martha (McMurphy) MacKay — daughter of John and Cheryl McMurphy of Sabetha — was recently selected as a Kansas Master Teacher for 2023. MacKay graduated from Sabetha High School in 2000. She earned a BSE from Emporia State University in Biology and Chemistry Education in 2004, and a Master of Science degree in Curriculum and Instruction in 2018.

She started her teaching career in 2004 as a life and physical science teacher at Hartford High School, and is currently teaching physical science at Emporia High School. MacKay is also an adjunct faculty member for Flint Hills Technical College teaching College Biology, Chemistry and Physical Science.

MacKay was performing experiments as a child to satisfy her curiosity about how the world works. Her passion for teaching (and learning) developed early as she would teach anyone or anything that would listen about what she had learned in school that day. Today, MacKay has created a positive and trusting classroom environment where students are safe to be uncomfortable and challenge themselves to engage in learning activities that many have never done before. Her students earn their success and have ownership and pride over their accomplishments.

MacKay will be recognized on Tuesday, March 14, by the Kansas House and Senate members. She also will be honored at an awards banquet on Wednesday, April 5, at the Emporia State University campus. She also will receive $1,000 from the Bank of America Charitable Foundation to be used for future professional development.

About Kansas Master Teacher

Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1954. To be eligible for nomination, each candidate must have served at least five years in schools in Kansas as a teacher or instructional leader, exemplified teaching or administrative effectiveness, and demonstrated the attitude and abilities specified in the National Education Association’s Code of Ethics of the Educational Professional.

The selection of seven award recipients is made by the award selection committee composed of the president or designated representative from prominent educational organizations such as Kappa Delta Pi — International Honor Society in Education, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas National Education Association and Kansas Congress of Parents and Teachers.

The Sabetha Herald1791 Posts

The Sabetha Herald has been serving Sabetha since 1876.

Obituary: Kathleen Haag


thumbnail of ISSUE 3.22.2023

March 22, 2023


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password